One of the most spectacular points of interest in New Orleans is Audubon Park. Uptown New Orleans was originally developed by dividing the land into long narrow plots perpendicular to the river, so many landowners could benefit from the fertile banks of the Mississippi.  Situated between famed Saint Charles Avenue and the great Mississippi River, the plot of land now known as Audubon Park was originally settled as farmland by New Orlean’s first mayor, Etienne de Boré. It was on this sugar plantation that granulated sugar made its debut as a commercial commodity. It was in 1850 (30 years after the passing of  Boré) that the plot of land was acquired by the city. The land began its transformation into the lovely urban park we know today in the 1870’s in anticipation of Louisiana’s first world’s fair – The World’s Industrial and Cotton Centennial Exposition of 1884. Two years after the world’s fair, the park was renamed from Upper City Park to Audubon Park after John James Audubon (1785-1851), an admired wildlife artist best known for his Birds of America collection.  In 1894, Audubon Park was refined by prominent landscape architect John Charles Olmstead. Since then, the Audubon Commission, tasked with the development and maintenance of the park, has blossomed into a network of nature institutions including research facilities, recreation amenities, the Audubon Zoo, and the Insectarium. The park itself continues to thrive under the Audubon Commission as they are dedicated to the long-term conservation of the land and its inhabitants.  To get the full park experience, we recommend taking the St. Charles streetcar uptown to the park’s entrance and walk through the park all the way to Magazine St, or to the Zoo (just on the other side of Magazine), or to the river (just on the other side of the Zoo!)